Memorial Service for David “Nick” Lynch @ Ebenezer AME

img01187_filtered

There was an impressive turn out to celebrate the life and memory of David “Nick or Nicky” Lynch.

Friends, Family, Football Players and Students packed the sanctuary and parking lots of Ebenezer AME Church in Fort Washington, Maryland. I knew the crowd was going to be sizable after seeing quite a few people walking down Allentown Road from Temple Hills Road to avoid the crush of traffic that Ebenezer can generate. I managed to find some parking and enter the church on the North Side where I was greeted to a winding line of people who wanted to pay respects and view the body.

Ebenezer had a full staff on today to support the anticipated crowds. The sanctuary was filled with music the way that only Ebenezer knows how to do it. Byron Cage and the music ministry are always exemplar. Here is a small video of “Never Would Have Made It” by Marvin Sapp. You can watch the Video Clip from Ebenezer AME on Vimeo.

A Full Sanctuary @ Ebenezer AME

A Full Sanctuary @ Ebenezer AME

I managed to find a seat in the last row of the balcony right next to University of Maryland Football Head Coach Ralph Friedgen. There were coaches in attendance from the entire DC Metro Area. Nicks coach from Eleanor Roosevelt spoke to the congregants.

Nick’s brother Keith delivered a great message that was really heart felt and clear. It moved a large number of young people to take the prayer of salvation.

Flood to the Alter

Flood to the Alter

I hope that as they took that prayer today that they will put themselves in places to be nourished and to understand the significance of what they have done. I know the Ebenezer AME and Glenarden Baptist Church Families will make room for them and be more than willing to support them in their “Christian Walk.”

To God Be The Glory

To God Be The Glory

I am sorry for the quality of the pictures. I only took my point and shoot camera to the service. I always feel very uneasy taking pictures at funerals. I never want to be disrespectful. There was a photographer from I assume a news station on the balcony taking pictures.  I suppose I really need to get over this and accept the fact that people will allow me to take photos, tell me to stop or throw me out. I read so many times from the street photographers that it is the confidence your bring to the table while shooting that makes the difference but I digress.

3 Comments

Filed under Journal

3 responses to “Memorial Service for David “Nick” Lynch @ Ebenezer AME

  1. Wes Magness

    I grew up in Glenarden in the late 1960’s and met the Lynch family in late 1968. I have known Nick Lynch for over 35 years. I regret not being there for the funeral because of prior commitments. May God bless him and his family. Judging from the pictures you can see the impact he had on so many people. When I last saw him at another funeral during the summer the last thing he said to my wife and I was dont forget about me ! No one ever will !

    • Wes…I hope that my posting is of some comfort and value since you missed the service. It was truly a home going befitting of someone who touched so many young lives. I knew Nicky since we were in Kindergarten together, Nicky is the first one of the people I grew up with and know personally to pass in my life.

  2. Barrett

    Its good to hear from Wes. His family lived right around the corner from mine. Its great to see that our Glenarden family is still strong after all these years. We may have moved away, but we all know where home is. Maybe Nicky’s passing was God’s way of reminding us not to forget where we came from and the values and friendships we got while living in OUR town of Glenarden.

Leave a Reply

